This wiki was updated to MediaWiki 1.37. If you notice any issues, please report them to admin[at]

Archive:Board election 2009

Jump to: navigation, search
Board election 2009


Note: from each of this two groups the person(s) with the most votes will be elected for the board: One person from the Novell group and two persons from the Non-Novell group. The chairman gets appointed by Novell. Please read the full description of the election process.




The new board member are Bryen Yunashko (community), Henne Vogelsang (Novell), Michael Löffler (chair), Pascal Bleser (community), Pavol Rusnak (Novell) and Rupert Horstkötter (community).


October 26th, 2009 (Phase 0)
  • Announcement of the openSUSE Board election 2009.
  • Start of 5 week period to apply for an openSUSE membership (in order to vote).
  • Start of 5 week phase to stand for a position in the openSUSE Board.
November 30th, 2009 [1]
  • Notification of intent to run, and application for an openSUSE membership close (end of phase 0).
December 1st, 2009 (Phase 1) [2]
  • Start of 1 week campaign for the candidates before the ballots open (campaign might be done until ballots close).
December 8th, 2009 (Phase 2) [3]
December 22nd, 2009 [4]
  • Ballots close (end of phase 2)
  • Announcement of the results

All deadlines start and end on the given dates at 12:00 UTC. For an overview what time this is in different timezones use the links above.

Election committee


You can contact the committee using the mail address This is a closed recipient list but all messages get archived.

Detailed explanation of all phases

Phase 0: Notification of Intent to Run

Only openSUSE members have the right to run for a board seat, except if they are in the Election Committee. To stand for a position in the openSUSE board please send a mail to

In the application candidates should write a short introduction of themselves and probably a short manifesto/platform/program. In addition to using the above lists, it is recommended that they blog about their candidacy as this will reach a much wider audience of voters. If their blog is not syndicated on Planet SUSE, please advise the committee who will ensure it does get added.

Potential candidates are advised to read the Board Member Application Mini-HOWTO to get an idea of what is involved.

Phase 0: Application for an openSUSE membership

To apply for a membership, applicants should read through How to become a member at the membership page.

Note: Applicants need to apply as soon as possible to give the current board enough time to review and approve/reject applications. Even if applicants meet the deadline, it may not be ensured that their openSUSE membership will be approved until just before the ballots open.

Phase 1: Campaign

During the campaign-phase there should be

  • plenty of blog entries on the upcoming election by the candidates
  • interviews with all candidates by the openSUSE news team
  • a moderated Q&A session on IRC possibly during one of the regular Project meetings or a separate meeting

Phase 2: Election

All persons with voting right will be able to cast their votes using an comfortable frontend. Once a vote has been submitted it may not be changed afterwards. All votes are stored anonymously in the electronic system.

Seats to get elected

Stephen Shaw and Bryen M Yunashko have finished their first year, their seats are up for election. Henne Vogelsang and Pascal Bleser will stay another year. Michael Löffler as chairman will stay as well.

We have added a third community (non-Novell) seat, so this election the openSUSE community elects:

  • One openSUSE member that is a Novell employee
  • Two openSUSE members that are non-Novell employees

See also

External links

Articles for candidates

Similar elections