The wikis are now using the new authentication system.
If you did not migrate your account yet, visit


Jump to: navigation, search

About Me edit

My name is Lars Vogdt (formerly Rupp - yes, I've married on 2006-12-29!) and I work for SUSE Linux in Nuremberg as team lead of the BuildOPS Team.

Currently I'm responsible for

  • all the "HR-stuff" for my team
  • providing the infrastructure for SUSE Research and Development in our offices around the world
  • helping packagers with their packages,
  • maintaining my own packages (osc my pkg | wc -l => 666 :-)

My hometown is a small village near Seesen - in the Harz mountains.


I've studied German and History to become a teacher - but never finished (puh ;-). But in my hands-on trainings I often checked the computer rooms in schools and most of them were (and are!) unusable. So I decided to create a school server - and joined an existing team named GEE-Server, they used a S.u.S.E. Linux 6.3, Webmin and some special scripts to create an "easy-to-go" server for schools. We implement some additional features and provided updates since 2006. I went to SuSE as the management there decided to create a school server in partnership with the City Fürth in 2003.

As my wife is a teacher on a secondary school, I help her with the computers in her school, as a matter of course - and migrated her first school completely to openSUSE (2 Terminal-Servers, 50 Clients, 300 people) - her new school currently runs at least the Open School Server.

As a member of the openSUSE Admin Team there is always enough work to do. But I think my most visible contribution to openSUSE is the Education Project. This includes packaging, writing documentation, hosting and maintaining/develop the infrastructure behind it.

Real life hobbies

Yes, I still have some ;-)

I learned diving (CMAS silver) during my study. I'm also a trained lifeguard (I earned money as student with this and Truck driving ;-) wind- and kite surfer and liked driving my motorcycle. Other hobbies are small (electric) handicraft works, photography, reading books, cooking, having fun with my friends... and - the major hobby since the last years: my wife and my two kids!

Contact edit


How you can reach me