Jump to: navigation, search

Karl Eichwalder

Edith, Scott, and me (2005). Taken by Thomas Rölz

I work as a technical writer for "SUSE Linux Products", a Novell company in Nuremberg. Besides writing and editing as a member of the Documentation Team team, I maintain software components coming with openSUSE: SGML and XML related packages, small GNU Emacs add-ons, and various translation packages (YaST, update-desktop-files, etc.). Some of these packages I also maintain as projects of the openSUSE build service: XML Tools or keichwa's Home Project.

I am a now inactive co-maintainer of the Free Translation Project (TP) hosted at .

I studied art history and German literature at the University of Göttingen (Germany). In 1986 I gained my degree of the master of arts (M.A.). During the next years I re-worked parts of the "Dehio: Handbuch der deutschen Kunstdenkmäler/Niedersachsen" (Dehio: Handbook of German Art Monuments/Lower Saxony) under the guidance of Gerd Weiß.

1995-2007. Then I was employed by a small computer shop for nearly 2 years, learned GNU/Linux under auspices of Eberhard Mönkeberg, and joined the S.u.S.E. company in 1997. In August 2005 I went on a two-weeks business trip to Dublin where I exchanged experiences with the Novell Globalization team. In 2006 and 2007 I participated in the wonderful Novell outdoor events organized by the nice people in Prague (Harrachov and Klášterský Mlýn nearby Rejštejn); in 2008 we met in the wonderful surroundings of Český ráj, Sedmihorky. Since 2006 I am learning the Czech language...

2007. Mapping the world around Nuremberg takes much of my time. That's fine, because hiking, cycling and playing with mobile devices such as N810 is a fascinating combination. For more information, see

2008. Hiking the Alps again: Two weekend trips to Oberstdorf together with Mike Fabian, walking and climbing two vie ferrate (Heilbronner Weg (German) and Hindelanger Klettersteig (German)).

2009. Several tours in the Alps—see my Alpen / Alps photo sets at flickr.

My home page is in German: (partially out of date)