Home Wiki > User:Dexter1979
Sign up | Login


tagline: From openSUSE

About Me edit

Male, born in 1979 in Hardenberg, The Netherlands and living in Mallow, Co. Cork, Ireland with my wife and our pets.

I'm a Medical Scientist in the hospital here in Mallow where I have the responsibility for I.T. This happened because I was pretty much the only person working there who showed any interest and had any knowledge about computers. Computers have been a great hobby of mine since 1998. This was the reason I met my wife online in the ICQ forums back in 1999. I moved over to Ireland in 2002.

Since 2008 I have been messing around with Linux. After starting with Ubuntu I quickly came across OpenSUSE 10.3 and KDE 3.5. I have not looked back since. Occasionally I might try a different distribution but I always seem to go back to OpenSUSE after a couple of weeks.

The OpenSUSE forums have been a great source of help, knowledge and fun over the passed few years and I hope I get to enjoy it for a lot more.

Recently I got the opportunity to start the Cork HUB for Camara, a Irish "not-for-profit" social enterprise which reuses old pc's, installs Linux on them and ships them to Schools in Africa and also more recently disadvantaged school in Ireland. This project is currently in the planning stages but I am looking forward to getting it started.


- Desktop/Gaming pc: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, 2Gb RAM, Nvidia Geforce 210, 2 x 500Gb Western Digital HD's, Creative X-Fi soundcard, Asus P5n-E SLI motherboard, OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE), Windows 7 Home Premium (for games)

- Samsung N135 Netbook: Standard Spec + 2Gb RAM, openSUSE 12.2 (KDE)

Contact I'm on the forums as dexter1979. You can contact me on Facebook, twitter and via my Blog

Have a lot of fun!